Tag Archives: 1990

Shotgun Wedding: East meets West Alumni Nights at The Fringe

"Shotgun Wedding" cast members Belinda Corpuz and Jeff Yung

Since ‘Shotgun Wedding’ takes place in the world of suburban Catholic High schools of the early 90s, I thought it might be a good idea to make special invitations to the alumni of some old-school high schools that made up our universe back then:

Wed. July 6 – Opening Night
Thurs. July 7 – St. Jean de Brebeuf / Philip Pocock
Fri. July 8 – Cardinal Carter / Cardinal Newman / Cardinal Leger
Sat. July 9 – Pope John Paul / Father Michael Goetz
Sun. July 10 – Loyola / Mother Teresa
Mon. July 11 – NO SHOW.
Tues. July 12 – Neil McNeil / St. Martin’s
Wed. July 13 – Jean Vanier / St Thomas Aquinas
Thurs. July 14 - Ladies Night! Notre Dame / Holy Name of Mary / St Joe’s Wellesley
Fri. July 15 – Francis Libermann / St. Francis Xavier
Sat. July 16 – Notre Dame / Our Lady of Mount Carmel
Sun. July 17 – Closing Night

Continue reading

Shotgun Wedding: On Dramaturgy

Audrey Dwyer, dramaturge

Before I started down this road, I didn’t know what “dramaturgy” was. What the heck was a “dramaturge” and why did I even need one? The truth is that without dramaturgy, I would have never been able to finish this play.

What’s dramaturgy? From WikiPedia:

“Dramaturgy is the art of dramatic composition and the representation of the main elements of drama on the stage.”
Continue reading

#4 Whatta Man – Salt n’ Pepa feat. En Vogue (1993′s Shotgun Wedding TOP TEN Countdown)

“You SO CRAZY….”

If 1993 seemed like it was all about the ladies, well… it probably was, as far as music goes anyway. At our high school, it was all about guys singing to girls, guys asking girls out, guys asking girls to the prom — whatever. That’s a lot of pressure! If you want to know where adult gender role expectations originated, it was probably high school.

You SO CRAZY.... ____(fill in the blank)_____!!!

At least Salt ‘n’ Pepa thought of the GUYS for just a second when they did ‘Whatta Man’. Continue reading